2012 Edition of the Obligatory NYE Post

Leave a comment

December 31, 2012 by themommahen

The last day of the year always makes me feel a little panicked, as if I haven’t gotten everything done I wanted to. I’m not really a resolution type of gal, because I do enough self-questioning and reflection (also called second guessing by The Husband) throughout the year, so it’s not really about lost opportunities, promises unkept or dreams unfulfilled, it just reminds me that time is ticking. Even on things as mundane as the pot of chili I have on the stove right now or the shower I didn’t get to take today.

(And did I brush my teeth? I don’t even remember, but that is a normal occurrence for me. Please other parents, back me up on this. See how much time has ticked on by? I used to be primping and pre-gaming for the Big Night. Now, well, I’m just a shadow of my former self. I’ve evolved. Evolved I like the sound of that way better.)

Back to the point, I, like everyone else in the free world right now, can’t help but think about the year gone by, what with all the video montages of the events, memorials, highs and lows gone by in 2012, and the prognosticating and forecasting of all the events, memorials, highs and lows to come in 2013.

2012 was a big year: visits from great friends, snow in NC (!!), our first trip back to Chicago since we moved, weddings of and births to great friends, an incredible high to discover we were expecting #4 followed by a devastating low of discovering that was not to be, followed by an incredible high of the best vacation EVER at Walt Disney World. Oh, and the world didn’t end.

No one knows what 2013 holds, but I know a few things: H#1 will finish first grade, H#2 will start kindergarten (sniff!), H#3 will continue to blow my mind with how unique he is, Furball #1 will continue to frustrate me while winning me over and we’ll be looking to branch out to our own living quarters. But, as many people before me have said, “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.” So who knows?

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

Enter your email address to get TMH via email!

Join 185 other subscribers

More chickenscratch here!